It all started last year.

A friend had won some kind of prestigious music award last year and as part of the award, had scored a solo part in an orchestral performance this year. What kind of friend would I be if I didn’t attend the concert?

So a few of us got together with the idea of having dinner together and making some (tasteful) ra-ra signs to thrust in front of him after the concert.

It was a relatively mild day but the temperature had been dropping steadily, and my friend hadn’t been feeling well lately, so I naturally turned to soup: the safest comfort food.

Thankfully, on a recent visit to my friend’s place, she was determined to cook a meal for us instead of ordering out or going out together, and she made this: The Taco Soup. Or as she calls it, Mexican….tortilla…something soup? (I don’t really remember anymore.)

It’s quick to throw together, allows for easy customization, friendly for all sorts of allergies, and is warming to the body.
I think it took me 15 minutes to throw all this together?

Taco Soup

Serves 5-6

No picture because, seriously, it tastes way better than it looks. You’ll just have to believe me

Ingredients
Soup base
1 can tomatoes or 3 tomatoes
1 can stock + 1 cup water
Onions
Garlic
Basil
SaltPepper

Additions
Avocado (in chunks)
Tortilla Chips
Shredded Cheese

Procedure
1. On the stovetop, bring the stock and water to boil
2. Chop up onions. Stir fry with garlic until slightly brown.
3.Combine onions and garlic with tomatoes. Puree
4. Add tomato/onion mixture to stock/water
5. Stir in garlic, basil, salt, pepper to taste.
6. Serve hot, with avocado, tortilla chips, and cheese on the side.

To eat, put as much avocado, tortilla chips, cheese into the tomato soup as desired.