So, instead of spending time in the car travelling from one city to another this weekend, I spent Friday night recovering from a whole week’s worth of workplace drama by getting together with some ladies to do some crafting. While the rest of them worked on sock monkeys, quilts, and hats, I pulled out an easy sewing project I just waiting for time to get done. A friend had sent me a super cute t-shirt a la Angry Bird. Sadly, smalls just aren’t made as they used to be and this one would have swallowed me up:

I wanted to be able to wear this in public and not just as a “night gown”.
T-shirt resizing start!
I flipped it inside out, put it on, and estimated how big the t-shirt should be by pinching the fabric in front of a mirror, and using safety pins to mark the measurements. To make extra sure of measurements, I took a t-shirt from my closet that I knew to be a comfortable size and aligned it with my t-shirt-masterpiece-in-progress to check.

Then, I used the same colour of thread as the t-shirt (red) and basically sewed the seams of shirt according to my safety pin markings. Pictured as white stitches below:

Flipping it back to the shirt’s proper orientation, I check the sizing by putting it on.

One more cool shirt that can see daylight!

The same night, I also finished up a felt plush toy for King Boo, of Super Mario fame.
I had found an awesome tutorial on this http://blog.seremeres.com/?p=87 and immediately wanted to give it a try. Here’s how it turned out:

And from another angle: